Embeded Glass Fireplaces

Today I am looking at reflective glass embedded into brick mortar joints.

Wow, talk about decorative detail!  I found photos of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Meyer May house fireplaces on the Michigan Stained Glass Census website.  The Meyer May House is located in Grand Rapids, Michigan.  I am in awe of the skill that was required by the mason to apply these glass embeds.  I think that it was worth the effort.

Another innovative use of glass involved Wright’s design of the fireplaces—one in the master bedroom and one in the living room. Wright had masons embed bands of autumnal-hued iridescent glass in the mortar joints. When the glass catches the light a certain way, it “appears to dissolve in the light and only the bricks remain.

-Michigan Stained Glass Census

Living Room Fireplace, Meyer May House

Living Room Fireplace, Meyer May House

Living Room Fireplace, Meyer May House

Living Room Fireplace, Meyer May House

Bedroom Fireplace, Meyer May House

Bedroom Fireplace, Meyer May House

Bedroom Fireplace, Meyer May House

Bedroom Fireplace, Meyer May House

About LookingAtGlass

My name is Patricia Linthicum and I love design. Join me in the exploration of glass used in interior design and architecture.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Decorative Glass, Interior Glass and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment