Peter Ivy

Today I am looking at glass artist, Peter Ivy.

Glass by Peter Ivy

Glass by Peter Ivy

This blog post is the result of an email I received from glass artist, GAAC Past President (2008-2011) and International Editor, Brad Copping. To be truthful, I should just say that this blog post is written by Brad.  He graciously supplied the subject, information, videos, and photo.  Yep, I’m one lucky girl, today.

Brad wrote a great article; Peter Ivy: When functional Design meets Art, February 15, 2013,  for GAAC’s online magazine.  According to Brad’s email:

Peter Ivy is an American glass artist living in Japan who makes beautiful clean lined glass for daily use. He also makes the most exquisite and poetic sculpture. He was in Toronto last November as part of the Craft Department at Harbourfront Centre’s annual Ideas + Innovators Series.”

– Brad Copping

You need to read Brad’s article to learn more detail about Peter, his lecture/workshop, and his work.  It means so much more to me to know a person’s story and motivation when I view their work.  Sure the work is beautiful (and functional) but, I somehow feel so much more connected to the work after I hear the artist talk about the history behind it.  Don’t you?

Brad’s article features a great video of the lecture given by Peter.

Here is a video featuring work shown and being made as part of the workshop.

BIG  HUGE GIGANTIC Thank You to Brad Copping for taking the time to research and share amazing stories about glass and the people who do magic with it!

About LookingAtGlass

My name is Patricia Linthicum and I love design. Join me in the exploration of glass used in interior design and architecture.
This entry was posted in Art Glass, Design, Video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment